President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday signed the Division of Revenue Amendment Act to increase conditional allocations to county governments for the 2018/19 financial year.

The Division of Revenue law provides for the sharing of revenue raised nationally between the national and county governments.

The amended statute on revenue allocation was presented to Uhuru by Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka and Senator Majority leader Kipchumba Murkomen.

Read: Uhuru signs law allowing Treasury to send cash to counties

The schedule of allocations indicates that the total shareable revenue between the national and county governments stands at slightly over Sh1.688 trillion.

Of this, the national government is allocated Sh1.370 trillion.


The new statute allocates counties over Sh376.481 billion specifically meant to facilitate the leasing of medical equipment, improve services at Level 5 Hospitals, finance the construction of county headquarters, and compensation for user fees.

Under the increased allocations, the County Government Equitable Share stands at Sh 314 billion and the County Equalisation Fund at Sh4.7 billion.

The national government’s share under the increased allocations includes Sh4.3 billion earmarked as a special grant to the National Health Insurance Fund (NHIF) for free maternal healthcare.

Also read: Plan to cut county cash unlawful, say governors

Click here for the latest political news