Thirdway Alliance leader Ekuru Aukot on Saturday unveiled the party’s candidates for the twin parliamentary by-elections in Embakasi South and Ugenya constituencies. 

The polls will be held on April 5.

Angela Mwikali will fly the party’s flag in the Embakasi South race.

She will face off with ODM’s Ishrad Sumra and Wiper’s Julius Mawathe.

Brian Omondi will represent the party in Ugenya’s race against immediate former MP Christopher Karan. 

The two seats fell vacant after the victories of Mawathe and Karani in the 2017 General Election were annulled by the Supreme Court. 

Former Ugenya MP David Ochieng successfully challenged Karan’s victory.

Jubilee Party withdrew from the two races.

Read: Jubilee withdraws from Ugenya, Embakasi South by-elections


Speaking while presenting nomination certificates to the two politicians, Aukot asked voters in the two constituencies to embrace fresh leadership.

“It is time for fresh leadership,” he said. 

Wiper leaders had earlier in the month told ODM to withdraw from the Embakasi South race “in the spirit of the handshake and NASA.”

The Orange party’s secretary general Edwin Sifuna, however, dismissed the calls saying that “the party will not advance any favours to people who abandoned our leader during the swearing-in one year ago.”

Read more: By-elections battle between handshake and Tanga Tanga teams – Sifuna

Click here for the latest political news