More by this Author

Taita Taveta Governor Granton Samboja has appointed seven chief officers in key departments.

The appointments come more than a year after the Samboja administration took office.

The names that are expected to be forwarded to the county assembly for vetting include two women and five men.

The governor nominated Mr Leonard Langat (Finance and Planning) Ajra Mohammed (Mining and Energy) Christine Mwakera (Health and Sanitation) and Philemena Kirote (Education and Libraries).

Others are Sylvanus Mwambere (Youth, Sports, Culture and Tourism) Reuben Ngeti (Environment, Lands, Planning and Natural Resources) and Liverson Mghendi (Special Programmes).


Mr Mghendi is currently the business growth and development manager at Equity Bank, Voi branch.

Only Ms Kirote who served in the last regime has retained her position.

The governor is expected to make more appointments for the remaining departments.

The departments include Public Service and administration, Public Works, Housing and Infrastructure, Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries, Water and Irrigation, Trade and Industrialisation.