Labour Cs Ukur Yattani has appointed a conciliation committee led by Haron Mwaura to avert the nurses’ strike.

Yattani made the announcement on Friday after the nurses said they would go on strike beginning February 4.

He gave the committee 30 days to come up with solutions and recommendations to avert strikes in the future.

On Wednesday, the Kenya National Union of Nurses called a strike in 23 counties starting Monday.

The union’s secretary general, Seth Panyako, said only three countries will not be affected.


They are Machakos, Mombasa and Migori.

The other 21 counties have shown interest in fulfilling the collective bargaining agreement signed on November 2, 2017.

Counties to be affected include; Nairobi, Kisumu, Homa Bay, Muranga, Kisii, Embu, Kiambu, Garissa and Elgeyo Marakwet.

Others are Kirinyaga, Marsabit, Nyandarua, Nyeri, Samburu, Elgeyo Marakwet, TransNzoia, Tharaka Nithi, West Pokot, Kitui, Wajir, Kwale, Mandera and Taita Taveta.

Read: Nurses in 23 counties to strike over unresolved pay hike deal