Seven Nyeri county government officials on Wednesday denied charges of abuse of office and conspiracy to commit an offence of corruption.

Five of them were Alice Waruguru Muita, Anthony Ndonga Muriu, Beatrice Wanjiru Gikaru, Geoffrey  Wachira Mahinda and Shellomith Wanjiku Nderitu – being members of the county public service board.

Ward administrators Johnson Kiongo and Jackson Thagama also faced two charges of forgery and an alternate charge of uttering a false document.

Senior principal Magistrate Philip Mutua released them on a Sh 500,000 bond each with a surety of similar amount.

The case will be mentioned on October 9.

The lot was arrested on Tuesday over claims of recruitment irregularities.

Investigators cited the appointment of sub-county administrators and ward administrators between July 2013 and March 2014.

“There was proof of the abdication of responsibilities, neglect of duty and a severe lack of due diligence on the part of the Nyeri CPSB,” EACC tweeted.